Call for Nominations: The Doreen Starke-Meyerring Award for the Best Article/Chapter (2020 & 2021)

The Doreen Starke-Meyerring Annual Award for the Best Article or Chapter in Writing and Discourse Studies recognizes the best journal article or book chapter published during the calendar year by a CASDW member. Co-authored articles or chapters will be eligible as long as one of the authors is a CASDW member.

Due to the unprecedented circumstances created by the COVID-19 pandemic, the committee is seeking nominations for the best journal article or book chapter published in 2020 and 2021. Both of these years will be recognized and assessed separately.

The deadline for nominations is January 7, 2022.

The winners of both the 2020 and 2021 awards will be announced at the CASDW Annual Conference.  Authors are invited to nominate their own publications as well as those of other CASDW members. In order to be eligible, nominees must have been CASDW members in both 2020 and 2021 (for the 2020 award), or in both 2021 and 2022 (for the 2021 award).

The assessment criteria for the award are as follows:

  1. the overall quality of the writing and thinking;
  2. the significance of the question(s) addressed in the research;
  3. the importance of the new knowledge presented in the article; and
  4. and methodological rigour and/or innovation.

The award includes a prize of $100 and a one-year CASDW membership for the following year.

Applicants/nominees should send a PDF of the journal article or book chapter, as well as a complete reference, to the selection committee listed below:

James Corcoran:

Sara Doody:

Boba Samuels: