Call for Nominations: The Doreen Starke-Meyerring Award for the Best Article/Chapter(2022)

Nominations are being accepted for the 2022 Doreen Starke-Meyerring Annual Award for the best article or chapter in writing and discourse studies. This award celebrates the outstanding scholarship being produced within the Canadian writing and discourse studies community.

The Doreen Starke-Meyerring Annual Award recognizes the best journal article or book chapter published during the calendar year by a CASDW member. Co-authored articles or chapters will be eligible as long as one of the authors is a CASDW member.

In order to be eligible, nominees must have been CASDW members in 2022. In the case of co-authored pieces, at least one member must have been a CASDW member in 2022. The nominated article or chapter must have been published in 2022.

To nominate an article or chapter, please send a PDF of the journal article or book chapter and a complete reference to the selection committee to the selection committee. No other documents are needed!

The deadline for nominations is March 8, 2023. The winner of the award will be announced at the CASDW Annual Conference.  Authors are invited to nominate their own publications as well as those of other CASDW members.

The assessment criteria for the award are as follows:

  • the overall quality of the writing and thinking;
  • the significance of the question(s) addressed in the research;
  • the importance of the new knowledge presented in the article; and
  • and methodological rigour and/or innovation.

The award includes a one-year CASDW membership for the following year.

Applicants/nominees should send a PDF of the journal article or book chapter, as well as a complete reference, to the selection committee listed below:

James Corcoran:

Sara Doody:

Boba Samuels: